Home Home | About Us | Sitemap | Contact  
  • Info For
  • Professionals
  • Students
  • Educators
  • Media
  • Search
    Powered By Google

SIOP Awards and Fellowships


by SIOP Administrative Office

SIOP Awards and Fellowships

Recognizing Member Contributions and Achievements at the SIOP Conference

SIOP is deeply proud of the tremendous contributions its members make to the profession. Recognition and celebration of member achievements and contributions is an important part of the SIOP conference, along with networking and sharing research.

On Wednesday night, April18, a crowd of over 150 people honored recipients of the awards announced at the Foundation Dessert Reception. Those attending the event sponsored by Sandra Davis and MDA Leadership viewed posters of the award winners, had their photos snapped, and sampled delicious desserts while mingling.

During the brief program, SIOP Foundation President Milt Hakel revealed that Rick Jacobs and his wife Jen have provided a significant increase in the endowment of the Adverse Impact Reduction Research Initiative and Action (AIRRIA) Grants, a $35,000 fund they had established years earlier. The fund has been renamed the Zedeck-Jacobs Adverse Impact Research Grant, and the goal is to build the endowment to $100,000 to allow for larger grants.
This came as a surprise to Sheldon Zedeck, for whom the award is co-named. Rick Jacobs wanted to honor the knowledge that Shelly imparted to so many, including Jacobs, who is Zedeck’s former student and long-time friend.

Hakel was elated to finally reveal the surprise. “I’ve been grinning ever since Rick hatched this plan with me back in November,” he said. “I hope more donors will follow suit.”


At the opening plenary on April 19, Awards Chair Lillian Eby and incoming SIOP President Talya Bauer congratulated recipients of several high honors, scholarships, and grants, including the Dunnette Prize.  This year also marked the inaugural award of the Hebl Grant for Reducing Gender Inequities in the Workplace. It recognizes a graduate student who is conducting a gender-related research project for his or her master’s thesis or a doctoral dissertation.

New SIOP Fellows, industrial and organizational psychologists who have made unusual and outstanding contributions to the field, were also announced and recognized by Fellowship Chair Kenneth De Meuse. This year, 21 new SIOP Fellows were inducted, raising the total number of active SIOP Fellows to 398. To celebrate the milestone, 175 Fellows attended the Fellows Breakfast immediately preceding the Opening Plenary.


More information about award winners and fellows, including photos, bios of the award winners and fellows, and project titles can be found in the “SIOP Salutes” brochure from the annual conference. Read an online version here or see a summary of award winners and fellows below.

SIOP Fellows

Suzanne T. Bell, Rebecca J. Bennett, Paul D. Bliese, Amy E. Colbert, Reeshad S. Dalal, Tanya Delany, Mark G. Ehrhart, Robert W Eichinger, Gudela Grote, Amy D. Grubb, Sean T. Hannah, Tonia S. Heffner, Steven T. Hunt, Stefanie K. Johnson, Charles A. Pierce, Roni Reiter-Palmon, Norbert K. Semmer, Traci Sitzmann, Marc Sokol, Eric A. Surface, and Riki Takeuchi

Award Winners Announced at the Opening Plenary

Distinguished Scientific Contributions Award
Dov Eden, Tel Aviv University

Distinguished Professional Contributions Award
Allan H. Church, PepsiCo
Scott Tannenbaum, The Group for Organizational Effectiveness

Dunnette Prize
Thomas J. Bouchard, Jr.

Distinguished Service Contributions Award
Eden B. King, Rice University
Deborah E. Rupp, Purdue University

Distinguished Early Career Contributions- Practice Award
Shonna D. Waters, BetterUp

Distinguished Early Career Contributions- Science Award
Dong Liu, Georgia Institute of Technology

Distinguished Teaching Contributions Award
Paul Sackett, University of Minnesota

SIOP Humanitarian Award
Cristina B. Gibson, University of Western Australia

Inaugural Hebl Grant for Reducing Gender Inequities in the Workplace
Ashley A. Membere, George Mason University

Award Winners Announced at the Foundation Dessert Reception

S. Rains Wallace Dissertation Award
Elijah X. M. Wee, University of Washington

William A. Owens Scholarly Achievement Award
Gang Wang, Florida State University
R. Michael Homes Jr., Florida State University
In-Sue Oh, Temple University
Weichun Zhu, The Pennsylvania State University

M. Scott Myers Award for Applied Research in the Workplace
Jeff W. Johnson, SHL
Elaine Pulakos, PDRI, an SHL Company
William H. Macey, CultureFactors, Inc.
Mark LoVerde, SHL
Allison Yost, SHL
Sharon Arad, SHL
Christos Malliaros, SHL
Conrad Schmidt, SHL
Mark Van Buren, SHL

Raymond A. Katzell Award in I-O Psychology
Adam Grant, University of Pennsylvania, Wharton School

Wiley Award for Excellence in Survey Research
Catherine J. Ott-Holland, Google, Inc. 
William J. Shepherd, The Wendy’s Company
Ann Marie Ryan, Michigan State University

Schmidt-Hunter Meta-Analysis Award
Ashley M. Hughes, University of Illinois at Chicago
Megan E. Gregory, Institute for Behavioral Medicine Research
Dana L. Joseph, University of Central Florida
Shirley C. Sonesh, University of Central Florida
Shannon L. Marlow, Rice University
Christina N. Lacerenza, University of Colorado Boulder
Lauren E. Benishek, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
Heidi B. King, Department of Defense
Eduardo Salas, Rice University

Douglas W. Bray and Ann Howard Research Grant
Matt Barney, LeaderAmp, Inc.
Barth Riley, LeaderAmp, Inc.

SIOP Small Grant Program
Jinyan Fan, Auburn University
Huahai Yang, Juji, Inc.
Elissa Hack, Auburn University
Melissa Stuhlman, Auburn University
Hairong Li, Auburn University

Alyssa McGonagle, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Enrica Ruggs, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Laureen Summers, AAAS

Julie Dinh, Rice University 
Laura Loftis, Texas Children’s Hospital
Eduardo Salas, Rice University
Lacey Schmidt, Minerva Work Solutions, PLLC

SIOP International Research Collaboration Small Grant
Barbara Beham, Berlin School of Economics & Law
Tammy D. Allen, University of South Florida
Ariane Ollier-Malaterre, University of Quebec

James L. Outtz Grant for Student Research on Diversity
Andrea C. Vial, Yale University

Adverse Impact Reduction Research Initiative and Action (AIRRIA) Grant
Vivian Chou, The Graduate Center & Baruch College, CUNY
Paul Hanges, University of Maryland
Charles Scherbaum, Baruch College, City University of New York
Jordan Epistola, University of Maryland

Leslie W. Joyce and Paul W. Thayer Graduate Fellowship
Victoria P. Mattingly, Colorado State University

Lee Hakel Graduate Student Scholarship
Meghana Warren, Claremont Graduate University

Mary L. Tenopyr Scholarship
Arielle Rogers, Northern Illinois University

Graduate Student Scholarship
Minseo Kim, Central Michigan University
Q. Chelsea Song, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Irwin L. Goldstein Scholarship by Macey Fund
Seyedeh Hoda Vaziri Bozorg, Purdue University

Best Lesbian/Gay/Bisexual/Transgender (LGBT) Research Award
Ann H. Huffman, Northern Arizona University

SIOP Best International Paper Award (presented at the International Reception)
Sin-Ning Cindy Liu, Texas A&M University
Isaac E. Sabat, Texas A&M University
Kelly Dray, Texas A&M University
Dan Manh Nguyen, Texas A&M University

John C. Flanagan Award for Best Student Contribution at SIOP
Sonya M. Stokes, University of Houston

SIOP Student Travel Award
Justin Aqwa, Wayne State University 
David Arena, University of Memphis 
Gina Bufton, Georgia Institute of Technology 
Rose Fonseca, The University of Tulsa 
Paige Hartman, Auburn University
Minseo Kim, Central Michigan University 
Sin-Ning Liu, Texas A&M University 
Nastassia Savage, Clemson University 
Nicholas Smith, Portland State University 
Yuejia Teng, University of South Florida