Home Home | About Us | Sitemap | Contact  
  • Info For
  • Professionals
  • Students
  • Educators
  • Media
  • Search
    Powered By Google

Congratulations 2017 Award Winners!


by SIOP Administrative Office

SIOP Honors the Best and the Brightest in the Field of I-O Psychology

During the opening plenary at this year’s SIOP annual conference, Awards Chair Joann Sorra announced the winners of several SIOP awards, scholarships, and grants, including nine distinguished awards and the inaugural presentations of the SIOP Humanitarian Award and the James L. Outtz Grant for Student Research on Diversity.

Several awards were also presented at the SIOP Foundation reception that took place the night before the plenary.

More information about the award winners, including photos, bios of the distinguished award winners, and project titles can be found in the “SIOP Salutes” brochure from the annual conference. Read an online version here or continue reading for a summary of this year’s winners!

Distinguished Professional Contributions Award
William H. Macey, CultureFactors, Inc

Distinguished Scientific Contributions Award
Steven W. J. Kozlowski, Michigan State University

John E. Mathieu, University of Connecticut

Distinguished Service Contributions Award
Georgia T. Chao, Michigan State University

Christopher T. Rotolo, PepsiCo

Distinguished Early Career Contributions - Practice Award
Anthony S. Boyce, Aon Hewitt

Megan K. Leasher, Macy’s Inc.

Distinguished Early Career Contributions - Science Award
Christopher M. Barnes, University of Washington

Distinguished Teaching Contributions Award
Donald M. Truxillo, Portland State University

SIOP Humanitarian Award
Steven G. Rogelberg, University of North Carolina Charlotte

M. Scott Myers Award for Applied Research in the Workplace
William Shepherd, Wendy’s, and Robert Ployhart, University of South Carolina

S. Rains Wallace Dissertation Award
Margaret Luciano, Arizona State University

S. Rains Wallace Dissertation Award Honorable Mention
Tao Yang, Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne

Schmidt-Hunter Meta-Analysis Award
Christopher P. Cerasoli, The Group for Organizational
Effectiveness (gOE); Jessica M. Nicklin, University of Hartford;
and Michael T. Ford, University at Albany, SUNY

James L. Outtz Grant for Student Research on Diversity
Carlos A. Moreno, Rice University

William A. Owens Scholarly Achievement Award
In-Sue Oh, Temple University;
Seongsu Kim, Seoul National University; and
Chad Van Iddekinge, Florida State University

Raymond A. Katzell Award in I-O Psychology
Jennifer J. Deal, Center for Creative Leadership

Joyce and Robert Hogan Award for Personality and Work Performance
Jonas Debusscher, Vrije Universiteit Brussel;
Joeri Hofmans, Vrije Universiteit Brussel; and
Filip De Fruyt, Ghent University

Wiley Award for Excellence in Survey Research
Nathaniel Shay, Starwood Hotels & Resorts, and
Matthew V. Valenti, SNP

Jeanneret Award for Excellence in Study of Individual or Group Assessment
Rachael Klein, Korn Ferry; Stephan Dilchert,
Baruch College; Deniz Ones, University of
Minnesota; and Kelly Dages, General Dynamics
Information Technology

Douglas W. Bray and Ann Howard Research Grant
Sylvia Roch, University at Albany, SUNY

Mark Whitmore, Kent State University, and
Ryan Powley, scitrain, ltd.

Sidney A. Fine Grant for Research on Job Analysis
Reanna P. Harman and Eric A. Surface, ALPS Solutions; and
Kurt Kraiger, Colorado State University

SIOP Small Grant Program
Allison S. Gabriel, University of Arizona;
Sabrina D. Volpone, University of New Mexico;
and Christina M. Moran, Marsh, Berry & Co., Inc.

Lingtao Yu, University of Minnesota;
Michelle K. Duffy, University of Minnesota;
and Xiao Li, Haier China, Haier Group

Kimberly French, University of South Florida;
Tammy D. Allen, University of South Florida;
Zheng Chen, University of South Florida, St. Petersburg;
Varol Kayhan, University of South Florida, St. Petersburg;
Kristen Salomon, University of South Florida;
and Mark Poteet, Organizational Research & Solutions

SIOP International Research Collaboration Small Grant
Marcus W. Dickson, Wayne State University;
Paul J. Hanges, University of Maryland;
Deanne den Hartog, University of Amsterdam;
Mary Keating, Trinity College, Dublin;
Cathy Kwantes, University of Windsor;
and Jason Shaw, Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Leslie W. Joyce and Paul W. Thayer Graduate Fellowship
Christina Lacerenza, Rice University

Lee Hakel Graduate Student Scholarship
Kimberly French, University of South Florida

Graduate Student Scholarships
James Field, Virginia Commonwealth University

Yihao Liu, University of Florida

George C. Thornton, III Graduate Scholarship
Xiaoyuan Zhu, University of Connecticut

Schneider Graduate Scholarship by Macey Fund
Veronica Caridad Rabelo, University of Michigan

Best Lesbian/Gay/Bisexual/Transgender (LGBT) Research Award
Christian N. Thoroughgood, Villanova University,
and Steve T. Discont, Illinois Institute of Technology

SIOP Best International Paper Award
Zhen Zhang, Arizona State University;
Ji Koung Kim, Arizona State University;
Mo Wang, University of Florida; and John W.
Fleenor, Center for Creative Leadership

John C. Flanagan Award for Best Student Contribution at SIOP
Henry R. Young, University of Central Florida

SIOP Student Travel Award
Woohee Choi, Seoul National University
Sydnie Cunningham, University of Tulsa
Kamalika Ghosh, Rice University
Seulki Jang, University of South Florida
Chang-Wook Jeung, Yonsei University
Nicole Landowski, University of Nebraska at Omaha
Mercedes McBride-Walker, Case Western Reserve University
Adam Roebuck, Roosevelt University
Zitong Sheng, George Mason University
Michael Yoerger, University of Nebraska at Omaha

To learn more about SIOP awards, scholarships and grants, visit the SIOP and Foundation awards page.