Home Home | About Us | Sitemap | Contact  
  • Info For
  • Professionals
  • Students
  • Educators
  • Media
  • Search
    Powered By Google

Congratulations 2015 Award Winners!


by SIOP Administrative Office

SIOP Honors the Best and the Brightest in the Field of I-O Psychology

During the opening plenary at this year’s SIOP annual conference, Awards Chair David Baker announced the winners of several SIOP awards, scholarships, and grants, including seven distinguished awards. Several awards were also presented at the SIOP Foundation dessert reception prior to the plenary.

More information about the award winners, including photos, bios of the distinguished award winners, and project titles can be found in the “SIOP Salutes” brochure from the annual conference. Read an online version here or continue reading for a summary of this year’s winners!


Distinguished Early Career Contributions Award: Science

Christopher Berry, Indiana University

Distinguished Early Career Contributions Award: Practice

Jeffrey Cucina, U.S. Customs and Border Protection

Distinguished Teaching Contributions Award

Kenneth G. Brown, University of Iowa

Distinguished Service Contributions Award

Debra Major, Old Dominion University
John Hollenbeck, Michigan State University

Distinguished Professional Contributions Award

Rob Silzer, HR Assessment and Development Inc. and Baruch, CUNY

Distinguished Scientific Contributions Award

Michael Frese, National University of Singapore

Other award winners included:

SIOP Awards

Dunnette Prize

Frank L. Schmidt

M. Scott Myers Award for Applied Research in the Workplace

Fritz Drasgow (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign),  Stephen Stark (University of South Florida), Oleksandr S. Chernyshenko (Nanyang Technological University),  Christopher D. Nye (Michigan State University), Leonard A. White (U.S. Army Research Institute), and Tonia S. Heffner (U.S. Army Research Institute)

S. Rains Wallace Dissertation Award

Jessica E. Dinh (University of Akron)

SIOP International Research and Collaboration (IRC) Small Grant

Lynda Zugec (The Workforce Consultants), Darja Maslic Sersic (University of Zagreb), and Karen Korabik (University of Guelph)

Best International Paper Award

James G. Field (Virginia Commonwealth University), Alec H. Munc (Clemson University), Frank A. Bosco (Virginia Commonwealth University), Krista L. Uggerslev (Northern Alberta Institute of Technology), and Piers Steel (University of Calgary)

SIOP Travel Awards

Andrew Bennett (Virginia Commonwealth University), Caitlin Blackmore (Wright State University), Celia Chui (University of Lausanne), Caitlin Demsky (Portland State University), Andrew Hafenbrack (INSEAD), Andrea Hetrick (University of Georgia), Mengqiao Liu (Wayne State University), Isaac Sabat (George Mason University), Jane Thomas (University of North Carolina Charlotte) and Craig White (Texas A&M University)

SIOP Foundation Awards

Hogan Award for Personality and Work Performance

Nathan T. Carter (University of Georgia), Dev K. Dalal (University of Connecticut), Anthony S. Boyce (Aon), Matthew S. O’Connell (Select International, Inc.), Mei-Chuan Kung (Select International, Inc.), and Kristin Delgado (Select International, Inc.)

Jeanneret Award for Excellence in the Study of Individual or Group Assessment

Nathan T. Carter (University of Georgia), Dev K. Dalal (University of Connecticut), Anthony S. Boyce (Aon), Matthew S. O’Connell (Select International, Inc.), Mei-Chuan Kung (Select International, Inc.), and Kristin Delgado (Select International, Inc.)

Wiley Award for Excellence in Survey Research

Brian K. Griepentrog (Fors Marsh Group), Joseph N. Luchman (Fors Marsh Group), Sarah Keaton (Fors Marsh Group), Sean Marsh (Fors Marsh Group), Ronald P. Vega (George Mason University), and Kara Marsh (Fors Marsh Group)

William A. Owens Scholarly Achievement Award

Steve W. J. Kozlowski (Michigan State University), Georgia T. Chao (Michigan State University), James A. Grand (University of Maryland), Michael T. Braun (Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University), and Goran Kuljanin (University of Illinois at Chicago)

Best Lesbian/Gay/Bisexual/Transgender (LGBT) Research Award

Isaac Sabat (George Mason University) and Kristen Jones (Washington State University Vancouver)

John C. Flanagan Award

Eric Knudsen (Baruch College, City University of New York)

SIOP Foundation Fellowship and Scholarships

Leslie W. Joyce and Paul W. Thayer Fellowship

John F. Capman (Baruch College, City University of New York)

Lee Hakel Graduate Student Scholarship

Margaret Luciano (University of Connecticut)

George C. Thornton III Graduate Scholarship

Zoa Ordonez (University of North Carolina Charlotte)

Schneider Scholarship by the Macey Fund

Tao Yang (University of Minnesota)

Graduate Student Scholarships

Michael Karim (George Washington University), Amanda Anderson (George Mason University)

Small Grants Program

Small Grants

Jinyan Fan (Auburn University), Guoxiang Zhao (Henan University), Minghui Wang (Henan University), Ronald C. Page (Assessment Associates International, LLC), Hui Meng (East China Normal University), and Yuan Yuan (Auburn University)
Mahima Saxena (Illinois Institute of Technology) and John Scott (APTMetrics)
Jolie M. B. Terrazas (Baruch College, The City University of New York Graduate Center)

SIOP Foundation Grants

Adverse Impact Reduction Research Initiative and Action (AIRRIA) Grant

Winfred Arthur, Jr., (Texas A&M University), Bryan D. Edwards (Oklahoma State University), Olabisi Asenuga (Texas A&M University), Nathanael Keiser (Texas A&M University), Inchul Cho (Texas A&M University), and Steven Jarrett (Select International, Inc.)

Sidney A. Fine Grant for Research on Job Analysis

Hannah A. Berkers, Vladimer Kobayashi, Stefan T. Mol, and Gábor Kismihók (all of the University of Amsterdam)

Douglas W. Bray and Ann Howard Research Grant

Brian Hoffman and Alexander C. LoPilato (both of the University of Georgia)

To learn more about SIOP awards, scholarships and grants, visit the Foundation webpage here and the SIOP awards page here.


Photo credit:  Clif Boutelle and Bob Muschewske.