Home Home | About Us | Sitemap | Contact  
  • Info For
  • Professionals
  • Students
  • Educators
  • Media
  • Search
    Powered By Google

APA Council Rep Candidate Statements Posted


by SIOP Administrative Office

The SIOP Elections Committee has recently certified Tara S. Behrend, Deirdre J. Knapp, and James L. Outtz as candidates for the upcoming American Psychological Association (APA) Council of Representatives election.

As a service to SIOP members who are voting APA members, we have posted the candidates' 250-word statements on the SIOP website. SIOP is not endorsing a particular nominee.

Read the statements here!

SIOP members who are also voting APA members will elect one of these candidates to serve a 3-year term on the APA Council of Representatives. The election will be conducted by APA, and ballots will be sent by them on or around April 15. Results are expected in mid-June.

The Council of Representatives is the legislative body of APA and has full power and authority over the affairs and funds of the association within the limitations set by the APA certificate of incorporation and the bylaws, including the power to review, upon its own initiative, the actions of any board, committee, division or affiliated organization. Council is composed of representatives of divisions, representatives of state, provincial and territorial psychological associations (SPTAs), and the members of the APA Board of Directors.

The winning candidate will also serve as a member of SIOP’s Executive Board of Directors and take office January 1, 2015. SIOP’s current APA representatives are Lori Foster Thompson, Rodney Lowman, John Scott, and Deborah Whetzel.