Home Home | About Us | Sitemap | Contact  
  • Info For
  • Professionals
  • Students
  • Educators
  • Media
  • Search
    Powered By Google

Psychology in the Media




Piers Steel Wins George A. Miller Award for an Outstanding Recent Article on General Psychology

SIOP member Piers Steel has won the 2012 American Psychological Association (APA) George A. Miller Award for an Outstanding Recent Article on General Psychology. Steel won the award for his article "The nature of procrastination: A meta-analytic and theoretical review of quintessential self-regulatory failure," published in the Psychological Bulletin (2007, 133, 65-94).

The Miller Award is chosen by colleagues from Division 1. The winner is announced at the APA annual convention the year of submission. The first author gives an invited address at the subsequent APA convention and also provides a copy of the award presentation for inclusion in the APA newsletter, The General Psychologist. The winning authors also each receive a certificate, and the first author receives a cash prize of $1,000 to help defray travel expenses for the convention.

Piers Steel is a professor at the University of Calgary whose research on procrastination has gained significant public exposure in media outlets throughout the world. His article titled “The Nature of Procrastination” and subsequent book, The Procrastination Equation, continue to receive extensive coverage in a wide range of publications including the New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, Toronto Globe and Mail, and Chicago Tribune as well as stories and mentions in other major international newspapers and magazines. His book identifies the major sources of procrastination as low self-confidence, task aversiveness, and impulsiveness. He also reaches the public with blogs that appear in Psychology Today. His science-based expertise on the inherent tendency of people to delay decisions is frequently sought by reporters and makes his work exemplary of the diversity of the I-O profession.

To read a list of the most recent winners as well as nomination instructions, visit the George A. Miller Award page here.