Home Home | About Us | Sitemap | Contact  
  • Info For
  • Professionals
  • Students
  • Educators
  • Media
  • Search
    Powered By Google

Leading I-O




SIOP Welcomes New Officers!

The Elections Committee has announced the winners of the recent SIOP officer election, and SIOP’s newest Executive Board officers are:

José Cortina-President-Elect
Milt Hakel-External Affairs Officer
Laura L. Koppes Bryan-Instructional and Educational Officer
Cristina G. Banks-Professional Practice Officer

Congratulations to all of this year’s winners! The new officers will take their positions at SIOP’s 28th Annual Conference, April 11-13, 2013 in Houston, Texas. Continue reading below to find out more about the newest members of SIOP’s Executive Board. To read about each winner’s vision and goals, you can read the candidates’ page here.

Meet the Officers

José Cortina

José M. Cortina is a Professor in the I-O psychology program at George Mason University. Professor Cortina received his PhD in 1994 from Michigan State University. His recent research has involved topics in meta-analysis, structural equation modeling, significance testing, and philosophy of science as well as predictors and outcomes of emotions in the workplace. His work has been published in journals such as the Journal of Applied Psychology, Personnel Psychology, Psychological Bulletin, Organizational Research Methods, and Psychological Methods. He currently serves as editor of Organizational Research Methods and is a former associate editor of the Journal of Applied Psychology. Dr. Cortina was honored by SIOP with the 2001 Ernest J. McCormick Award for Distinguished Early Career Contributions, by the Research Methods Division of the Academy of Management with the 2004 Robert O. McDonald Best Paper Award, and by the Organizational Research Methods Editorial Board with the 2012 Best Paper Award. He was also honored by George Mason University with a 2010 Teaching Excellence Award and by SIOP with the 2011 Distinguished Teaching Award.

Milt Hakel

Milt is Ohio Eminent Scholar and Professor Emeritus at BGSU. He received his PhD from Minnesota (1966), and served at Minnesota, OSU, and Houston before moving to BGSU (1991). He advised 79 students through the completion of their doctoral dissertations. He served as SIOP’s president in 1983-1984. He is a fellow of SIOP, the Association for Psychological Science, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

External Relations: Milt served on APA’s Council and Board of Professional Affairs. He ran for APA’s presidency in the 1980s, and then played key roles in the founding and growth of the Association for Psychological Science. He received research support from the NSF, Navy, Air Force, Coast Guard, Army, and private sector. He edited Personnel Psychology for a decade, and then was its publisher for 20 years.

International Affairs: A Fulbright-Hays Senior Research Scholar in Italy (1978), Milt chaired the U.S. National Committee for the International Union of Psychological Science. He was a board member of the International Association for Applied Psychology. He is the president of the Alliance for Organizational Psychology, a new global federation of work, industrial, and organizational psychology associations.

Visibility: Milt served on the Board on Testing and Assessment of the National Research Council, chairing its Committee on the Evaluation of Advanced Teacher Certification. He chaired the Coordinating Committee for the Human Capital Initiative, a national venture to bring psychological science to government and private sector attention as a source of solutions to national problems.

Laura Koppes Bryan

Laura Koppes Bryan is Dean of the Yale Gordon College of Arts and Sciences, University of Baltimore (UB), where she has administrative responsibility for undergraduate and graduate degree programs, academic policies and procedures, strategic planning and resource allocation, and faculty recruitment and retention. Prior to UB, she was director and professor of the School of Psychological and Behavioral Sciences, University of West Florida (UWF); before UWF, she directed graduate programs in I-O psychology, and in 2004, she was a U.S. Fulbright Scholar to teach HR and OB in the Czech Republic. She is the editor of the only comprehensive scholarly text on the history of I-O psychology (Historical Perspectives in Industrial and Organizational Psychology), coauthor of the 3rd edition of EEO Law and Personnel Practices, and coeditor of the text, Using I-O Psychology for the Greater Good: Helping Those Who Help Others (SIOP Frontiers Series). She was the recipient of UWF President’s Award for Leadership in Diversity and the UWF Distinguished Faculty Scholarly and Creative Activities Award. Her projects have been funded by the National Science Foundation, the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, and the State University System of Florida Board of Governors. She is past-president of the professional College and University Work-Life-Family Association. She was the 2007 recipient of the SIOP Distinguished Service Award for her contributions as the chair of the SIOP Education and Training Committee, SIOP Historian, and TIP Editor. Koppes Bryan received her PhD from The Ohio State University, and is a SIOP, APA, and APS Fellow.

Cristina G. Banks

Dr. Banks is a former SIOP Professional Practice Officer appointed for one year in 2009. She is president of Lamorinda Consulting, a firm specializing in employment and wage/hour litigation consulting, and previously founded Terranova Consulting. She has consulted to over 100 businesses and organizations. She also teaches at the University of California, Berkeley. She is currently director of the Center for Healthy Workplaces at UC Berkeley. Dr. Banks has published several articles and chapters in the areas of performance management, organizational consulting, and wage and hour compliance. She is a nationally recognized expert in the Fair Labor Standards Act and state wage and hour laws, and serves as an expert witness in employment and wage/hour cases. Recently, she was awarded APA’s Presidential Citation for Innovative Practice, recognizing her work in new job analysis methodologies for properly classifying jobs as exempt and other purposes.

Dr. Banks is a frequent contributor to SIOP, having served in many roles such as a member of the editorial board of Human Performance, member of several SIOP committees, symposia chair and presenter on various topics at the annual conference, and presenter of two master tutorials in wage and hour litigation, among other things. She also served as the Division 14 Delegate to the APA Summit on the Future of Psychology Practice.

How Does the Election Process Work?

Votes for SIOP president-elect and officer positions are recorded using the Ware single transferable vote method (voting is done by ranking candidates and an automatic runoff is calculated, per the procedures used for APA’s presidential election). Candidates are placed in rank order by voters, and each person elected must receive a majority of the votes cast. Ranking of all candidates is encouraged but not required.

After each voting round, the candidate with the lowest number of votes is eliminated. If the voter's first choice receives the lowest number of votes, the vote is transferred to their second choice for the second round and so on until one candidate reaches the required quota. This system is also known as a “single transferable vote” or instant runoff method.

On the tally sheet the transferred votes referred to above are shown in the gray boxes. In Round 2 and beyond, ballots that include only candidates that have been eliminated are considered "exhausted." The number of these ballots for each round is indicated on the tally sheet. You can view the tally sheet here.